Celebration time for Chamber

Award-winning Laurens County Chamber of Commerce thanks workers,supporters

Dr. Cynthia Pitts, with Laurens County Chamber of Commerce Board Chairman Frank Stovall, left, and CEO Greg Alexander, right, was named the 2015 Chamber Volunteer of the Year tonight during the 38th Annual Member Dinner.

Pitts was recognized with the John P. Faris Volunteer of the Year Award for her work on behalf of the Chamber's workforce development committee, which spearheaded Laurens County's designation as a WorkReady Community. Chamber awards and a talk by Dr. Almeda Jacks, of Laurens County and Clemson University Vice-President for Student Affairs, were highlights of tonight's program.

The program's emcee, King Dixon, of Laurens, was awarded the prestigious Duke Energy Award for Public Service. Robin's Nest of Laurens (Robin and Kris Hornberger) was named the Robert M. Vance Small Business of the Year. Kimberly Kitchens, ServPro of Laurens County, received the Spirit of the Chamber Award. Zeke Benjamin was named Ambassador of the Year. Jaselyn Jennings was honored as the Young Professional of the Year. Outgoing Chamber board members recognized for their service are Marvin Moss, Tara Glenn and Ernie Segars.

Ryan L. Anderson, a sophomore at Laurens Academy, was named the Cecil Davenport Citizenship Award recipient. Runners-up are Alyssa Jane Shiflet, Clinton High School, and Lauryn A. Turner, Laurens District High School. Winners of the Wendy's High School Heisman are Cynthia McHam and Harrison Fisher, Clinton High School, and Jamie Elizabeth Ackerman and Thomas Russell Jones, Laurens District High School. District 56 Teacher of the Year Jennifer Howard and District 55 Teacher of the Year Cassie Powers also were honored at the annual dinner.

Laurens County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors Officers are Frank Stovall, chairman; Jeff Field, past chairman; Marilyn Easter, chairman elect; Bob Capell, treasurer; and Brenda Ligon, member-at-large. The Chamber annual dinner was presented at Presbyterian College's Mabry Smith Yonce Center, with a reception preceding the dinner at the campus' Harper Center for the Arts.



King Dixon is recipient of the Duke Energy Award for Public Service.

My Clinton News

P.O. Box 180
513 North Broad St.
Clinton, SC 29325
Phone: (864) 833-1900
Fax: (864) 833-1902


Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to My Clinton News Newsletter feed
Comment Here